Justice of The Peace

  Randall D. Rister

                                                                                      100 Avenue E NW, Ste 6
                                                                                          Childress, TX  79201
                                                                                        Email: jp@childresstx.us
                                                                                          Phone: 940-937-6145

                             We will be glad to assist you with Citations issued by the Childress Sheriff's Department, Texas DPS, Constable or Texas                                               Parks and Wildlife, Occupational Drivers Licenses, Evictions, Small Claim Cases, Debt Claim Cases, etc.

THIS COURT DOES NOT ACCEPT PERSONAL CHECKS! Please use the payment links below or mail in a Cashier's Check or Money Order.

nCourt Online Payments
Click this link to make a regular payment for your citation.
Official Payments
Click this link to make a payment for Driving Safety Course, Deferred Disposition or Payment Agreement.
FINE SCHEDULE AMOUNT - ASSUMING NO EXTENUATING CIRCUMSTANCES, ALTERNATIVE SENTENCING OR DISPOSITION AND PAID BY COURT APPEARANCE DATE.
 
Violation                                                      Fine                                 Violation                                               Fine
1-5 mph over posted speed limit                    $190.00                            Drivers License Violations                       $276.00
6-10 mph over posted speed limit                  $200.00                            No Proof of Liability Insurance                $300.00
11-15 mph over posted speed limit                $210.00                            Seat Belt Driver/Adult Occupant              $179.00
16-20 mph over posted speed limit                $230.00                            Child Not Restrained                              $200.00
21-25 mph over posted speed limit                $290.00                            Registration/Equipment Violation             $170.00
26 mph and above over posted speed limit     $329.00                            Passing Authorized Emergency Vehicle     $320.00
ALL other Violations charged                 Contact Office                            Run Red Light/Stop Sign                        $200.00       

IF YOU PLAN TO CONTEST THE CHARGE, YOU MUST MAIL, EMAIL OR FAX YOUR PLEA TO THE COURT BY YOUR COURT APPEARANCE DATE.         

DRIVING SAFETY COURSE REQUIREMENTS:
You may be able to require the charge to be dismissed by taking a Driving Safety Course if:
1. You have a valid TEXAS drivers license (excluding a Commercial Drivers License).
2. You have not taken a Driving Safety Course within the past 12 months.
3. Your alleged speed does not exceed 24 mph over the limit OR 95 mph or higher.
4. You are not presently taking a Drivers Safety Course for another Court.
5. Alleged speed was not in a construction zone. OR
6. You are a member, or the spouse or dependent child of a member, of the United States Military Forces serving on active duty.

However, you will lose that right if you do not follow these instructions on or before you appearance date:
1. Remit $146.00 state fees. (NO Personal Checks Accepted)
2. Send a copy of YOUR liability Insurance Card, showing coverage on the date of the citation.
3. Send a copy of the front of your drivers license.
4. Send a copy of your 3A Driving Record from https://www.texas.gov/.

You may send all of these items to the email listed on this page and pay online with a debit/credit card to the link specified on this page.

DO NOT TAKE A COURSE UNTIL THIS COURT SENDS YOU AN APPROVAL LETTER. 

Civil Cases Information
Click this link to find information to Civil cases.